April Power Rankings: Top 10 Pavement Drivers

Hirschman Wins Spring Sizzler And SRX Ride

Now that FloRacing has become the home of road racing, we thought it would be a good idea to start a road-only Power Rankings. With so much racing about Late Models, Stock Cars and Modifieds, it can be challenging to find the top 10 drivers, but we think we’re up to the task.

First we want to explain what qualified a driver to make this exclusive list. Since this is the very first FloRacing Pavement Power Rankings, we wanted to include everything from early 2022 to now. The next episode is only for that month. And so, without further ado, here are the FloRacing Pavement Power Rankings for April.

1. Matt Hirschman – This is an obvious choice. No one was better than Matt Hirschman in the early parts of 2022. Hirschman took four wins at the World Series of Asphalt at Florida’s New Smyrna Speedway, including the inaugural NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour event there, as well as the John Blewett III and Richie Evans Memorial races. Add to that his three SMART Modified Tour wins. Oh, and he also just won the Spring Sizzler at Stafford Motor Speedway for the first time and secured a seat when SRX comes back to Stafford as a result. “Big Money” lived up to its moniker in 2022.

Interview: Hirschman Scores Special Spring Sizzler Win and SRX Ride

2. Layne Riggs – This second-generation driver started the season as warm as anyone. Riggs walked into South Boston Speedway with plans to disrupt the status quo and he did just that. Riggs won the first four Late Model Stock Car races of the season before finally finishing second to Peyton Sellers in the fifth race of the year. Riggs also added another win at SoBo last Saturday night, giving him five wins of the season. He recently announced his plans to drive for the NASCAR Advance Auto Parts Weekly Series National Championship this season, and so far he is the leader.


Highlights: Layne Riggs wins at South Boston Speedway – April 2, 2022

3. Bubba Knot – After a challenging 2021, Pollard will be back in 2022. Pollard already has three wins, including CRA SpeedFest, plus three second place results. Pollard also used second and fourth in a doubleheader weekend at Five Flags Speedway to secure a spot at SRX during their visit to Pensacola, Florida.


Behind the scenes: FloRacing visits Bubba Pollard’s race shop in Georgia

4. Casey Roderick – This Georgia Super Late Model ace had a weekend in Indiana herself. Roderick won the ARCA/CRA Super Series and JEGS/CRA All-Stars Tour races on the challenging highbanks of Salem Speedway.

5. William Byron – This Hendrick Motorsports driver has had some extracurricular races in 2022 and is doing quite well. Byron won two Super Late Model races at New Smyrna Speedway in February, as well as the Easter Bunny at Hickory Motor Speedway. Byron is also a two-time Cup Series winner this season, so it’s clear his short track racing helped him on Sunday.


Interview: NASCAR Star William Byron Wins Super Late Model Races

6. Derek Thorn – Thorn came so close to winning his first Snowball Derby last December, but he hasn’t let that disappointment slow him down in 2022. Thorn went to the win lane at the SRL All-Star Showdown at California’s Irwindale Speedway, then returned to the win lane at Florida’s Five Flags Speedway in a Southern Super Series race this month.

7. Brenden Queen – The man they call “Butterbean” is undefeated at Virginia’s Langley Speedway to begin 2022. Three races, three wins. That’s a solid way to start a title defense year.


Highlights: Brenden Queen wins season opener at Langley

8. Sammy Smith – The defending ARCA Menards Series East champion picks up where he left off at the end of 2021. Smith leads the East Division points and has two wins so far at New Smyrna Speedway and Five Flags Speedway. He also took one win this year en route to the Super Late Model World Series of Asphalt Championship at New Smyrna, the second championship there in his career.

Smith Scores Super Late Model Win Thursday

Interview: Sammy Smith Finds New Smyrna Speedway SLM Victory Lane

9. Casey Johnson- This Wisconsin native has had a strong start to his 2022 season. He finished second in the Midwest Tour opener at Wisconsin’s Slinger Speedway, but this weekend he took to the win lane in the 200 Joe Shear Classic at Madison International Speedway, one of the largest Super Late Model races in Wisconsin. Johnson defeated Super Late Model ace Ty Majeski and 2003 NASCAR Cup Series champion Matt Kenseth to take the win.

10. Taylor Gray – Taylor Gray has gone to the win lane twice so far this season. He dominated Dover Motor Speedway’s ARCA Menards Series East event last Friday, and he also showed in March that he can race and win in the toughest conditions. Gray took to the victory lane in the ARCA Menards Series national event at Phoenix Raceway just days after the driver of the team’s transporter died from injuries sustained in a crash en route to Phoenix.


Highlights: Taylor Gray Takes Emotional ARCA Menards Victory In Phoenix